Where I’m From: A Poem

By: Isobel Gaedtke

I am from
The dusty libraries
That fill the cities
I am from the
Sweet ocean air
That sweeps my hair
As I walk the streets of dawn

I am from my past
My future
My present
I am from warm blankets
Out of the drier
On a cold Saturday morning

I am from the sweet chimes
Of music that fills the air
As the wind brings it
Home

I am from the life
My parents gave me
I am from the swish
Of the trees in the afternoon
Hours

I am from the work and hope
That my family brought
To the world
I am from the hope of my mother
And the determination of my father

I am from laughter and childhood
That is filled with dolls and blankets
And happiness

I am from the forests filled
With green and blue
And yellow and orange
I am from pancakes
Fresh off the stove
And Fireflies that dance
After sunset

I am from the cold
Sand that seeps through
The cracks between my toes
And the soft breeze that dances
Across my cheeks
I am from the joy and peace
That we worked hard to build

I am from warm snuggles
From my parents on a frigid
Soccer field of freshly mown
Grass in the early morn

I am from the soft push
Of my fathers hand behind the swing
As I laugh and swing through the air
Trailing my hands over the wind that
Gently floats through the air

I am from jokes and silliness
And games and family
Movie nights on the floor
With popcorn spilled on our laps
As we shake with laughter

I am from the soft licks
Of a dog
That takes the salty tears
Off my cheeks
Gentle as ever

I am from time and time again
I am from mistakes and success
I am from love and adrenaline
I am from the strong hand of poetry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *