Bacon Cheez-Its: Hit or Miss?

By: Kiara Garcia

Recently a friend brought Bacon Cheez-Its to lunch. At first, we didn’t know what to think of it, since they were Cheez-Its but bacon flavored. We decided that we should all try one of them together.

“A toast,” I say, “to Cheez-Its for life”

“That’s very cheesy,” says one of my friends.

I thought it tasted pretty good; sort of a smokey-bacon with a sort of peppery taste. One of my friends described it as “weird taste, but still a Cheez-It.” One of my friends described it as “sausage pizza and smoke”

So what’s the deal with these Cheez-Its? Thankfully, they aren’t made of actual bacon, but the way that they made the bacon flavor isn’t too pleasant.

On the official Cheez-it Twitter, they said, “It doesn’t contain meat. The bacon flavor is made using natural smoke flavor. We hope you’ll give it a try!”

So they use smoke to make the bacon flavor, which is why multiple people described them as tasting like smoke.

Are they worth it? I wouldn’t say so unless you really like them, but they come in a duos pack. This means they come with another flavor, and that flavor is cheddar.

I personally didn’t like it, but I’m pretty sure you can get the bacon flavor with regular cheddar. If you like that then you should definitely check them out.

2 thoughts on “Bacon Cheez-Its: Hit or Miss?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *