Broken Technology and Stolen Souls

By: Isobel Gaedtke

There it is, there it is
I feel powerless against it
I don’t know what to do
For it is all too new
To understand

It keeps taking, and it’s taking, and it’s taking
Breaking me, taking me
Away to the unknown
Although I feel like a drone
It takes me
Away

It blurs my vision as I understand the mission
Not knowing of the power that seeps into me
Something that I can’t see
But I won’t, I can’t
It pulls me, grabs at me, scratches me

It scares me,
Dares me to push back

I pull and pull
As it takes my soul
Until at last I finally pull free
I am free
And now I can see
I was taken, broken
Feeling like a token

I am breathing
I am seething
Knowing I was the prize
For a criminal in disguise

But I am free at last
And now I can see the past and the outlines
Of what I used to be

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *